After the first make love, I was not able to concentrate at work. I was wondering if I did the right thing. It was not all about the lovemaking or okay, sex; but it was about thinking if choosing him over my boyfriend of five years was worth it.

During the early days of our courtship, it was clear to him that I had second thoughts about leaving the father of my toddler for him. The father of my toddler (FOMT) and I had issues and the worst was his violent tendencies. I was young and I believed that staying with a violent person was not worth it. “Christian Grey” or “Grey” knew about it and advised me to back off while there was time.

“You are just being stupid for staying with him. Choose me and you’ll have a better life. Choose me for your child’s sake. Choose me and you’ll see,” Grey said.

I did not answer right away. We crossed the street and he put his arms on my shoulder to protect me. While we were getting near to my place, he stopped and reminded me that choosing him would be the best thing that would ever happen to me. My heart leaped at that moment and I gave him a peck.

Grey was obviously surprised at the spontaneity. I bid him good-bye and went inside the compound. When I looked back at the gate, he was still there standing. He waved his hand to tell me to come near to him. I did.

“What was that kiss for?” he asked.

“It was….nothing!” I said.

He held my hand and kissed it.

“This is something,” he said. “Please tell me that that kiss means that you also love me?”

“Okay, I like you!”

“It’s okay. Someday, you will love me, too!”

********

They say that the grass is always greener at the other side of the fence. I say that the grass may not be necessarily greener but if the farmer is not taking care of it, then the grass will look for other farmers to make it a better grass.

Young girls are too obsessed about the idea of love without taking into consideration the motive behind her suitor’s actions. Love is different from attraction. When someone tells you that your life will be better with the one convincing you, more often than not, he/she is just trying to convince you like a great salesman.

 

Leave a Reply

